About the Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame

Vote Now: 2011 Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame Inductees

Industry encouraged to vote for this year’s Hall of Fame nominees

Kansas City, MO. (Feb. 15, 2011) — Voting for the 2011 Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame inductees is now open at, This year, will mark the third year of nominations and the caliber of cattle feeders nominated continues to be impressive.

“The gentlemen nominated this year are exemplary individuals who undoubtedly shaped the cattle-feeding industry into what it is today,” says Jim Miles of Intervet/Schering-Plough Animal Health, a founding sponsor of the Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame.

From the five nominees, two inductees will be announced during the Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame banquet on June 30, 2011 in Denver, Colo.

2011 Hall of Fame inductee nominees

• Robert (Bob) Rebholtz, Sr. – Agri Beef Co., Inc.

Bob Rebholtz, Sr. started in the cattle-feeding industry with the purchase of his first feedyard in 1968. Along with a partner, Rebholtz founded Agri Beef Co. in 1978. Today, the company operates a vertically integrated system complementing the feedyards owned by the company.

• Lee Borck – Innovative Livestock Services

Lee Borck is the president of Innovative Livestock Services and chairman of the board of the Beef Marketing Group cooperative, which is one of the largest cattle-feeding cooperatives in the U.S., encompassing 15 independent feedyards from Kansas and Nebraska. He is a past president of the Kansas Livestock Association and Cattle-Fax.

• James Herring – Friona Industries, L.P.

James Herring is the president and CEO of Friona Industries, L.P., the fourth largest cattle-feeding operation in the U.S. with four commercial feedyards in the Texas panhandle and a one-time capacity of 275,000 head. He is the current president of Cattle-Fax and a past president of the Texas Cattle Feeders Association.

• John Wilson – Beef Northwest

John Wilson is the co-founder of Beef Northwest, a commercial cattle-feeding operation with yards in Nyssa and Boardman, Ore., and Quincy, Wash., and a one-time capacity of 95,000 head. John co-founded Beef Northwest with his cousin, both of whom are fifth-generation Oregon ranchers.

• Dave Wood – Harris Farms, Inc.

Dave Wood is chief operating officer and Beef Division chairman for Harris Farms, Inc., which operates Harris Feeding Company, the largest cattle feeder on the West Coast. Wood also is a past president of Cattle-Fax.

Industry Leadership Award voting

In addition to the 2011 Hall of Fame inductee nominees, voting also is open for the 2011 Industry Leadership Award nominees. The Industry Leadership Award is given to distinguished individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, provided exemplary service and have made significant contributions to the advancement of the cattle‐feeding industry. The Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame believes these individuals are the core of the industry and provide information and counsel that contributes to the success of cattle feeders nationwide. Voting for the Industry Leadership Award nominees also is available at

The 2011 Hall of Fame Industry Leadership Award nominees are:

• Topper Thorpe – former CEO of Cattle-Fax

• Gary Smith – meat scientist and professor

• Jim Link – former administrator of Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration (GIPSA)

• Dee Likes – executive vice president and CEO of the Kansas Livestock Association

• John Lacey – first NCBA president and California cow-calf producer

Note: Voting for the 2011 Hall of Fame inductees and Industry Leadership Award nominees will close March 31, 2011.

The Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame was established to honor the exceptional, visionary men and women who have made lasting contributions to the cattle-feeding industry. Each year two pioneers are inducted into the Hall of Fame. Additionally, a recipient for the Industry Leadership Award and the Arturo Armendariz Distinguished Service Award is chosen.

For more information on the inductees and award winners, or about the Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame, visit, and