AHA Announces 2008 Dams of Distinction - Rausch Herefords tops the list for 28th year

KANSAS CITY, Mo. ­­­– For 2008, 1,938 Hereford cows from 641 Hereford performance herds in 45 states earned the honor of being named a Dam of Distinction by the American Hereford Association (AHA).

For the 28th consecutive year, South Dakota Hereford operation Rausch Herefords owns the most Dams of Distinction honored at 56 head, and again leads its state to the top of the list with 319 cows recognized.

The 2008 Dams of Distinction list honors the Hereford breed's cows that meet the highest standard of production and recognizes the cattlemen who produce them. In order to be named a Dam of Distinction, a Hereford cow must meet all the job requirements for an ideal cow. She should produce a healthy, growthy calf every year; she should calve as a 2-year-old, and she should cause her owner absolutely no problems. A Dam of Distinction is the standard by which all Hereford cows can be judged.

The cow must do her job, but also her owner must manage the herd correctly to give her the opportunity to excel. Only a small portion of active cows is recognized. All heifers have the potential of being a Dam of Distinction, but only a small percentage fit the job description of an ideal cow year in and year out.

In order for a cow to be named a 2008 Dam of Distinction she must have:

1) Weaned a calf born since January 1, 2007.

2) Produced at least three calves.

3) Initially calved at 30 months of age or less.

4) Had an interval between the first and second calves of no greater than 400 days. In addition, a 370-day calving interval must have been maintained after her second calf. The longer initial calving interval allows breeders to calve 2-year-old heifers prior to the mature cow herd.

5) Had weaning records submitted to the AHA Whole Herd Total Performance Records (TPR™) Program for every calf produced that was born before June 30, 2008.

6) Had a progeny average 205-day adjusted weaning weight ratio of at least 105.

For more information about the Dams of Distinction Program visit, click on “Whole Herd TPR” and select “Dams of Distinction.” Females attaining the Dams of Distinction status are recognized with “DOD” after their names on the AHA Web site.

An article reviewing the 2008 Dams of Distinction will be published in the April Hereford World. The top 20 states and breeders of Dams of Distinction are listed below.

Top 20 States ― Dams of Distinction

Rank - State - Number of Dams

1 South Dakota, 319

2 Nebrask, 225

3 Kansas, 146

4 Montana, 110

5 North Dakota, 106

6 Texas, 84

7 Idaho, 76

8 Missouri, 74

9 Oregon, 68

10 Minnesota, 63

10 Illinois, 63

12 Wyoming, 60

13 Oklahoma, 53

14 Wisconsin, 49

15 Iowa , 44

16 Colorado, 41

17 Indiana, 33

18 Utah, 31

19 California, 26

20 Tennessee, 24

Top 20 Breeders ― 2008 Dams of Distinction

Rank - Owner - Number of Dams

1 Rausch Herefords, Hoven, S.D. , 56

2 Donald Dubois, Wolsey, S.D., 36

3 Mrnak Herefords, Bowman, N.D., 29

3 Van Newkirk Herefords, Oshkosh, Neb., 29

5 Upstream Ranch, Taylor, Neb, 28

6 Fawcetts Elm Creek Ranch, Ree Heights, S.D., 27

7 Larry & Carol Gildemaster, Virgil, S.D., 24

8 K&B Herefords, Onida, S.D, 21

9 O.D. Perkes, Afton, Wyo., 18

9 Harrell Hereford Ranch, Baker City, Ore., 18

9 Alexander Mih, Indianapolis, Ind., 18

12 The Poplars Ranch Inc., Silver Lake, Ore., 16

12 Colin Hoffman, Leola, S.D., 16

12 Tim Shaw Herefords Inc, Cascade, Idaho, 16

15 Keith Lapp, Hayes Center, Neb., 15

16 Alfred Schutte & Sons, Guide Rock, Neb., 14

16 Helbling Herefords, Mandan, N.D., 14

17 Shaw Cattle Co. Inc., Caldwell, Idaho, 13

17 Keith Carmichael, Meadow, S.D., 13

17 Jeffrey Boehnke, Kramer, N.D. , 13

17 Wiese & Sons, Manning, Iowa , 13


Amy Cowan

American Hereford Association

Director of Youth Activities and Foundation

1501 Wyandotte

Kansas City, MO 64108

phone (816) 842-3757

fax (816) 842-6931

Herefords...The Efficiency Experts