Seventeen Hereford Breeders Celebrate 50 Years in the Business

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — In celebration of 50 years in the Hereford business, 17 breeders were honored as Golden Breeders Nov. 2. Jack Ward, American Hereford Association (AHA) chief operating officer and director of breed improvement, presented the awards at the AHA Annual Membership Meeting in Kansas City.

The 2009 honorees are:

Leonard Amann, Marissa, Ill.

Robert H. Card, McGraw, N.Y.

Tim Dennis, Penn Yan, N.Y.

Paul and Bernice Hamilton, Bloomfield, N.Y.

Dan Kniffen, Spring Mills, Pa.

Dan Koester, Dennison, Minn.

Lawrence Herefords, Coon Rapids, Minn.

Bruce Layne, BBL Polled Herefords, Fountain Run, Ky.

Earl W. Muck, Clarence, N.Y.

Perkins Farm, Locust Grove, Okla.

Arlyn Rabideau, Clifton, Ill.

Bischoff’s Ravine Creek Ranch, Huron, S.D.

Spring Pond Farm, Ted Kriese, Cato, N.Y.

Taurus Farms, Lafayette, Tenn.

Watsons Walkin W Polled Herefords, Barnard, Kan.

Malcolm A. Wilber, Delanson, N.Y.

Still River Ranch, Larry Woodson, Wolfe City, Texas


The American Hereford Association, with headquarters in Kansas City, Mo., is one of the largest U.S. beef breed associations. The not-for-profit organization along with its subsidiaries — Certified Hereford Beef (CHB) LLC, Hereford Publications Inc. (HPI) and American Beef Records Association (ABRA) — provides programs and services for its members and their customers, while promoting the Hereford breed and supporting education, youth and research. For more information about the Association, visit

For pictures and additional news releases, visit Enter “Hereford09” when prompted for a password.