Beef Magazine is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

ESAP winners: 7 ranching leaders in sustainability & stewardship

Gallery-ESAP winners: 7 ranching leaders in sustainability & stewardship

The seven finalists are recognized for their stewardship and conservation efforts.

UPDATE: Florida's Blackbeard’s Ranch was announced as the winner of the 2019 Environmental Stewardship Award Program (ESAP) during this week's 2020 Cattle Industry Convention and NCBA Trade Show in San Antonio, Texas. Below Jim Strickland is pictured with Julie Morris as they accept the award during Wednesday night's ceremony on behalf of the operation.

Jim Strickland, NCBA ESAP National Winner, Blackbeard’s Ranch

The National Cattlemen's Beef Association (NCBA) has named the seven regional finalists of the ESAP.  

The award, announced during the 2019 Cattle Industry Summer Business Meeting in July, recognizes the operation’s outstanding stewardship and conservation efforts. This year’s regional winners will compete for the national award, which will be announced during the Annual Cattle Industry Convention in San Antonio, Texas, February 2020

Established in 1991 by NCBA to recognize outstanding land stewards in the cattle industry, ESAP is generously sponsored by Corteva Agriscience, McDonald’s, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and the National Cattlemen’s Foundation. 

 “The lands we manage as farmers and ranchers are only entrusted to us for a short time and farmers and ranchers across the nation are committed to passing those resources to the next generation in a manner which ensures their future success. This year’s ESAP nominees exemplify the greatness of our industry and they share the common goal of bettering our industry through outstanding stewardship practices,” said NCBA President Jennifer Houston. 

Check out the seven regional winners in this gallery. 

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.