Beef Magazine is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Republicans announce House Agriculture Committee members

Article-Republicans announce House Agriculture Committee members

Courtesy of Frank Lucas G.T. Thompson and Frank Lucas
FARM BILL TEAM: House Agriculture Committee Chair G.T. Thompson (left) says former chair Frank Lucas brings valuable knowledge and experience to the Farm Bill process.
Former committee chair Frank Lucas is among the 12 new members awaiting approval.

The House Republican Steering Committee announced its recommendations for GOP members to serve on the House Agriculture Committee. They include 15 returning members and 12 new ones. Committee Chair G.T. Thompson said he welcomes the diverse group of legislators that will represent his party in the 118th Congress.

“It’s imperative we hit the ground running through a rigorous hearing schedule, listening sessions, and aggressive oversight,” Thompson says. “I look forward to working closely with my colleagues as we put forward commonsense solutions that provide certainty for rural America."

Rep. Frank Lucas returns to the committee he chaired from 2011 to 2015. Thompson said he brings valuable knowledge and experience to the Farm Bill process and the committee as a whole.  

During his four-year chairmanship, Lucas helped craft the 2014 Farm Bill. As a committee member, he’s had input in every Farm Bill since 1996. According to him, returning to the Agriculture Committee feels like coming home.

“At a time when strengthening safety nets and accounting for higher input costs are a necessity, it’s the responsibility of the Committee to work across the aisle to craft a comprehensive 2023 Farm Bill, ensuring America’s farmers, ranchers and families have the tools and resources they need to grow the food and fiber and thrive in a 21st century America,” Lucas says. “Even in the hyper-political and terse times we live in today, I have the utmost confidence the House Agriculture Committee can provide certainty for our producers and innovation in nutrition programs.”

Other returning committee members include Reps. Austin Scott, Rick Crawford, Scott DesJarlais, Doug LaMalfa, David Rouzer, Trent Kelly, Don Bacon, Dusty Johnson, Jim Baird, Tracey Mann, Mary Miller, Barry Moore, Kat Cammack and Brad Finstad.

Among the new Committee additions are Reps. John Rose, Ronny Jackson, Mark Alford, Lori Chavez-DeRemer, Monica De La Cruz, John Duarte, Nick Langworthy, Max Miller, Marc Molinaro, Zach Nunn and Derrick Van Orden.

The steering committee’s recommendations are subject to House Republican Conference approval. That is widely expected to be a formality.

TAGS: Legislative
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.