ANCW Names Officers; Selects Top CattleWoman

Kristy Lage, Arthur, NE, is the 58th president of the American National CattleWomen, Inc. (ANCW).

Kristy Lage, Arthur, NE, is the 58th president of the American National CattleWomen, Inc. (ANCW). Lage has chosen the theme "BEE-Fit" as she represents CattleWomen involved in the beef industry across the nation.

As a theme, Lage encourages members to “Beef-Fit” showcasing the power of protein as part of a healthy physically fit lifestyle, and mentally fit to represent our industry with current and accurate knowledge of the beef issues consumers need to understand in a changing environment.

Lage has served ANCW and the beef industry on the local, state and national level. A Cattlemen's Beef Board Representative since 2006, she currently serves on the Retail Committee. She was Nebraska CattleWomen president in 2004, ANCW Region VII Director and Legislative chair. And she was a state team member for the National Beef Cook-Off in 2007 and on the Committee in 2009.

Kristy and husband Ron are first-generation farmers and ranchers near Arthur, NE. They have a diversified farming and ranching business with cow-calf, backgrounding, plus irrigated corn, alfalfa and pasture.

Named to ANCW’s 2009 Executive Committee are: Lage; president-elect Lana Slaten, AL; recording secretary Glee Swanson, NE; past president Fita Witte, NM; Region I director Bonnie Bargstedt, NY; Region II director Marcia Lightsey, FL; Region III director Bev Rowe, IA; Region IV director D’dee Haynes, OK; Region V Director Linda Davis, MT; Region VI director Barbara Jackson, AZ; Region VII director Janice Rustad, ND; parliamentarian, Ginny Lee, NE; and Anna Larsen, NE, historian.

In addition, Ginny Lee, Valentine, NE, was named the ANCW’s 2008 Outstanding CattleWoman of the Year. An active member for 40 years, Lee has served on the board of directors, as secretary, on various committees and as vice chair and chairman of the National Beef Cook-Off (NBCO) Committee and co-chair of the 1999 NBCO. She is a wife, mother, grandmother and active volunteer in her community and church.

The Outstanding CattleWoman of the Year Award is given to one cattlewoman each year who has excelled at continued beef promotion on the local, state, and national level, while contributing dedication, commitment and support to the American National CattleWomen, Inc.