Merck Animal Health award scholarships

Merck Animal Health awards 18 future bovine veterinarians with $90,000 in scholarships.

September 28, 2022

2 Min Read
9-26-22 2022 Merck Scholars.jpeg
2022 Merck Animal Health bovine veterinary student recognition scholarship winners include: First Row, L-R: Payton Smith, Elisabeth Regusci, Eleni Casseri, Kaci Way, Trevor Copes Middle Row, L-R: Caroline Beninger, Madison Baumgarter Back Row, L-R: AABP Vice President Dr. Dave Sjeklocha with Merck Animal Health, Emily Schuurmans, Lilly Smith, Paige Isensee, Emma Cijka, Hannah McCray, Dr. Lowell Midla with Merck Animal Health Merck Animal Health

Merck Animal Health, known as MSD Animal Health outside of the United States and Canada, a division of Merck & Co., Inc., Rahway, N.J., USA (NYSE:MRK), has awarded $90,000 in scholarships to 18 bovine veterinary students based on their academic achievements, career goals, work experience and interest in veterinary medicine. Selected students received their American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) Bovine Veterinary Student Recognition Award, and a $5,000 scholarship, at this year’s 2022 AABP Annual Conference, held in Long Beach, Calif., Sept. 22-24. 

     “Merck Animal Health is proud to honor these students who represent the future of cattle care,” stated Justin Welsh, D.V.M., executive director of livestock technical services, Merck Animal Health. “These exemplary students embody Merck Animal Health’s mission to advance the science of healthier animals. I am confident as they embark on their careers, they will make a significant impact on the field of veterinary medicine.” 

     The following students received the 2022 AABP Bovine Veterinary Student Recognition Award:

  • Madison Baumgartner, University of Minnesota

  • Caroline Beninger, University of Calgary

  • Eleni Casseri, Cornell University

  • Cayley Childress, University of Arizona

  • Emma Cijka, Cornell University

  • Trevor Copes, Tufts University

  • Gregor Greer, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine

  • Jessie Hoagland, Ross University

  • Paige Isensee, University of Missouri

  • Mallory McConathy, Louisiana State University

  • Hanna McCray, Cornell University

  • Elisabeth Regusci, Cornell University

  • Emily Schuurmans, Michigan State University

  • Seth Shirky, Cornell University

  • Lilly Smith, North Carolina State University

  • Payton Smith, North Carolina State University

  • Emily Violini, Washington State University

  • Kaci Way, The Ohio State University 

Related:White House actions target livestock concentration

     “For nearly two decades, we’ve seen firsthand the outstanding individuals who will soon join our field, and this year’s group of students is no exception,” said AABP Executive Director Fred Gingrich II, D.V.M. “We’re incredibly grateful to Merck Animal Health for its continued partnership as we support the next generation of bovine veterinarians.” 

     The scholarships are available to student members of AABP in their second or third year of school who are interested in beef and/or dairy veterinary medicine. 

Source: Merck Animal Healthwho is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset. 

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
BEEF Magazine is the source for beef production, management and market news.

You May Also Like