Angus ​​​​​​​Association introduces new selection and voting process for coveted award.

December 8, 2022

4 Slides

While the life of a herdsman is one many dream about, the reality of the job is more physically and mentally challenging than most realize. To recognize those in the Angus family committed to ranching day in and day out, The American Angus Association® created the annual Herdsman of the Year Award. It honors Angus enthusiasts who dedicate themselves to the management, decision making and improvement of a specific herd.

This year, the events and education committee approved a new process of electing the Herdsman of the Year recipient. Candidates were selected by a committee consisting of past winners of the award and the Events and Education Committee Chair. In addition to the new selection process, a new, online voting system will be used to tabulate the winner.

Voting will be conducted starting December 15 and all votes must be submitted by noon Thursday, January 5 (CST). To be eligible to vote, exhibitors must have entered at least one of the following shows in 2022: Cattlemen’s Congress, National Western Stock Show, Western National Angus Futurity, Atlantic National, American Royal or NAILE. These exhibitors will receive an email with a unique login and password from the Election Runner platform to vote. Only one vote per member code will be allowed.

Related:Drought impacts and outlook

Nominated for this year’s award are Tyler Cates and Cortney Hill-Dukehart Cates, Sunrise Sunset Farm; Jeff and Kathi Creamer, Lazy JB Angus; Miles Shout, Express Ranches; and Dillon Stertzbach, Stertzbach Cattle Company.

Read more about the nominees and prepare to cast your vote December 15, 2022 through January 5, 2023.



Subscribe to Our Newsletters
BEEF Magazine is the source for beef production, management and market news.

You May Also Like